Peer Pressure, or Finding a Reason to Write

I have been hearing about it for months now, and I finally gave in. I signed up for the Magic Spreadsheet.

In case you haven’t heard about it yet, the Magic Spreadsheet is an online spreadsheet on Google Docs that lets you track your daily writing. Not only that, but someone has made a game out of it, giving you points for both the number of words written (250 minimum) and how many days in a row you write. The longer your chain, the more points you get. I signed up on May 28, so this is my fifth day in a row writing, which means I get 5 points just for writing today. I also got 3 points for writing over 1,000 words. When I get 495 points I advance to Level 2, and my minimum word count goes up by 50 words to 300 words per day.

Since my project for this year is to write a short story every week, I’m not sure what I’m going to do when I finish the story early. I might have to start another project on the side. Something that I can pick up whenever I have the time, but that will let me get in my minimum word count.

At least one of my writing group is also using the Magic Spreadsheet, and is up to level 4 with a chain of 110 days. One of the podcasters I listen to is Mighty Mur Lafferty, and she is level 5 with a chain of 180 days. I don’t know if I can match that record, but at least this gives me something to strive for. It makes me accountable for writing every day, which is something I have been slacking on.

If you are interested in signing up, you can join the Facebook group or you can just Google it. Make sure to read the directions first, but don’t be afraid to add your name to an open slot. And if you do, let me know, so I can watch your progress. (If you’re looking, my name is at the bottom of the ISBWtwo sheet.)

In other news, I finished my 22nd Dirty Little Freaks story, and I’m trying to come up with something to write for number 23. I was watching Hogan’s Heroes today with my wife and I started thinking it might be interesting to write either some fanfic based on the show, or a story that is at least loosely modeled after them. Probably the latter, as I don’t think I could pull off a story worthy of the magnificence that was Bob Crane. (And if you haven’t seen the show, do yourself a favor and check it out.)

That’s it for today. Wish me luck on my daily writing, and I’ll see you back here on Wednesday with another update. TTFN!

9 Comments

Filed under About Me, The Writing Experience

9 responses to “Peer Pressure, or Finding a Reason to Write

  1. Good luck on your writing! The spreadsheet sounds like a fun challenge, and a great motivator.

  2. Okay I’m in. I’m on the ISBWthree tab at 289. 1384 words last night.

  3. You can do it! I didn’t think I could either!

  4. I hadn’t heard of Magic Spreadsheet (though we use a similar Google Doc for our JuNoWriMo group), but the concept is very similar to 750 words (http.750words.com). The point system is different, and you write into the page so that it can count your words for you. (It also gives cool analyses of the content afterwards to look at…) There’s a bit less competition, but we have monthly challenges, award badges, etc.

    Sounds like you’ll have a lot of fun with you new inspiration nudger. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Why I Write - Write Tribe

  6. Good luck with this approach and I hope it works for you. a spread sheet would drive me even further into insanity lol!!!

  7. Pingback: Weekend Writing Update (a thank you letter) | datanode.net

Leave a Reply

