FanFic or Not FanFic?

So my story this week is a sci-fi version of the classic television show “Hogan’s Heroes”. The question is: is it fanfic? (For those of you unfamiliar with the term, fanfic is short for fan fiction, where someone writes a story based on the characters or world of another writer.)

I don’t think it is, for a couple of reasons. First, I changed all their names. Second, because it isn’t set in Nazi Germany, but instead on a different planet far in the future. I think that those two things give my story enough differences from the show that it can’t really be considered fanfic.

But I could be wrong. I haven’t written any fanfic before so I’m not really familiar with the limitations of the definition. Maybe the fact that anyone familiar with the show would be able to easily make the connection is enough. While I did change the names, a few of them are fairly close to the original (Kronk instead of Klink, Shoz instead of Schultz, etc.) I am also trying to be faithful to the personalities of the characters.

So what do you think? Is my story fanfic or not? Have you ever written fanfic? If so, what was it?

In other news, I am still using the Magic Spreadsheet, and my chain is up to nine days as of Tuesday night. I’m going to keep going as long as I can, and I’ll keep you informed as I go.

That’s about it for today. I’ll be back on Sunday to let you know if I was able to finish this week’s story. I’m going to try to do my best to honor the great Bob Crane and Werner Klemperer, but they are a hard act to follow. On the plus side, I did buy the complete series on DVD, so there is plenty of inspiration (and entertainment) to keep me going.

5 Comments

Filed under About Me, The Writing Experience

5 responses to “FanFic or Not FanFic?

  1. montalve

    Personally I believe it’s an original work deribed from a source… a fanfic for what I have seen is to take characters from a story and write stories around them (usually bringing OCs (original characters) that tend to be necesary for the plot ot original cast’s victory.)

    I might be wrong, but these is my take on that issue. Most people who write a fanfic want people to know where they are coming from.

    Still I have heard that “Shades in Grey” is a Twilight fanfcition with erased serials (names and places changed), so it might be your case too. But that is inpeople’s argot, for what I have seen it has sold quite well.

  2. Pingback: Disclaimer Draft for Doctor Who | Pioneers of the Shattered Waters

  3. I would tend to agree that since you’ve changed names and locations it doesn’t really qualify as fanfic. But I’m not really active in that community (though I did write some Xena and Star Wars fanfic back in the day), so I’m certainly not an expert on what qualifies. Yours really seems like it would fall more into the “inspired by” category to me. I’ve heard the same as montalve about Shades of Grey, though, so who knows.

  4. Pingback: How Harry Potter Should Have Ended, a harry potter fanfic | FanFiction | The Blog That Made No Sense

  5. I write quite a lot of fanfic, most often in the Whoniverse, and I try hard to stay true to the characters (although my more recent, series seven-compliant attempts are much better writing – and probably more in-character, what with all that show-no-damage and all – than some of my earlier ones!)

    I think that because you have changed the setting, the character names, and many other details, it is “based on characters from…” rather than fanfic. Or it’s just barely possible that it counts as an AU (Alternate Universe) fanfic, since you tried to stay true to character.

Leave a Reply

