Personal Update

I thought that today I would share a few things about myself. But first, an update on my writing.

My Tesla story is finished. It kind of sucks, but it’s done. The basic plot is a man who is visited by aliens from Venus. They tell him that they destroyed their own world with pollution and the greed of a few, and had to leave the solar system. But they kept an eye on Earth and have returned to keep it from happening to us. Their first attempt was with Tesla, but since he failed they are trying again with our hero. That was Story #28 of my Dirty Little Freaks collection. I updated my count meter, but there seems to be something wrong with it and it isn’t displaying the correct count.

Also, I’m up to 48 days in my writing chain on the Magic Spreadsheet. Things are going well, and this week I have decided to write a story in the format of a daily diary of someone who is an essential prisoner. She gets daily assignments, but once her task has been completed she can do whatever she wants with her time. Except leave.

Okay, now for the personal stuff. I have been on vacation this past week, celebrating my anniversary with my beautiful wife. I always take the week off for my anniversary, and this year it was actually a little more than a week, as I decided to take the 5th of July off as well. So my vacation started on July 4 and is over today, July 14. A nice, long, ten-day vacation.

We didn’t go anywhere for my vacation. I would have liked to have gone up to Wisconsin Dells for a day, but unfortunately we couldn’t afford it. Our car was on its last legs, with brakes that were hanging on by a thread, so we spent all of our meager savings and then some on taking it to a mechanic. He’s a really nice guy and he gave us a deal, but it still cost $886 to do the work that had to be done. There’s still a lot of work left to do on the car, since the exhaust is essentially gone, but we simply don’t have the money for it, so it will have to wait while we rebuild our savings. The important thing, though, is that I can now drive down the street without worrying about whether or not I will be able to stop.

We also did some cleaning over the last few days. We have recently decided to eliminate some of the clutter in our lives, so I started digging into the piles of boxes in our storage room and made some hard choices about what to keep and what should get kicked to the curb. A lot of what I threw away was old papers and magazines, but I also have a large stash of computer books and games that I no longer use. My plan is to take them to Half-Price Books so they can dispose of them for me. Many of them are so old that I doubt anyone will want them, but you never know. The important thing is that they won’t be taking up space in my house any more.

That’s all that I have time for today. I’ll be back next Sunday to let you know how my latest story came out. Until then, have a great week and keep writing!

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me

Leave a Reply

