Losing Steam

I have to admit that I have been having some trouble coming up with ideas for my weekly stories. Don’t get me wrong. I’m still writing. It’s just that usually I have to start with some random thought and see where it takes me. What I would like to do is have the idea when I sit down to start, instead of just pantsing the entire thing.

This latest story was influenced by my recent streak of watching How I Met Your Mother. I just recently started watching the show on Netflix, and was hooked almost immediately. I have to admit that the show is awesome, and I haven’t been able to stop. I burned through the seasons one after the other, and I am actually watching an episode of season seven while I write this.

So anyway, ;the story starts by saying that you have to love what you do, no matter what it is. And then the main character confesses that what he does is not nice. The rest of the story is about how he tried to pull off a grand heist combined with a huge orgy, and it ends up with him getting caught.

Definitely not my best work. And I just have to wonder how much better my stories would be if I knew what I wanted to say going in. I’m going to try to actually have an idea when I start this week’s story. I’ll let you know next week how it goes.

That’s about it for today. Have a good week and keep writing!

Leave a comment

Filed under The Writing Experience

Leave a Reply

