I Think I’m Getting the Hang of This

It only took me nine months. Three quarters of a year. Thirty nine weeks.

I think I’m finally getting the hang of writing short stories. Of course, since very few of them have been read by anyone, I may be way off base, but at least I’m getting a lot of practice. I finished this week’s story on Wednesday, then wrote another one on Thursday and started one more on Friday. I haven’t finished that last one yet, but I’m starting a new one for a new week anyway, and if I finish that one early I’ll go back and work on the other one again.

My story last week was about a challenge. It was really just a prelude scene to a much longer story, but that’s okay too. It was about a man who is approached by an older man in a cafe. There have been several murders involving young women, and they were all found in a state that suggests demonic sacrifice. The man is challenged to save another young woman by going to a remote location and figuring out how to use magic. Not the trickery and illusion of the stage magician, but real, honest-to-god magic like in the fairy tales. And at the very end of the story, I hint that the old man presenting the challenge is actually an older, time-traveling version of himself.

I am really thinking of expanding on this and writing the rest of the story, but it won’t be this year. Instead, I’ll just add it to the pile of other story ideas that I have come up with during the last nine months and let it simmer in the back of my head until I’m ready to take it to the next level.

On a different note, October is practically here, which means that NaNoWriMo is closing fast. I probably won’t be participating, as I don’t think I’ll be able to write 50,000 words of short stories in 30 days. But I’ll be thinking of all of you as I plod along, and I’ll definitely be hitting my keyboard next year. Probably with one of the previously mentioned ideas.

That’s about all I have time for today. See you next week!

Leave a comment

Filed under The Writing Experience

Leave a Reply

