Fairy Tale Failure

Last week I tried to write a fairy tale. I started with “Once upon a time” and everything. There was a princess, and a poor farmer, and a witch. But when I got into the story, it just didn’t come together. It also didn’t help that it was a short story that had to be wrapped up in a week. I kind of knew where I was going, but it was taking too long to get there. Once again, I had to wrap up my story at the end of the scene, instead of the end of the story.

While the story may be a failure, the effort certainly was not. If there is one thing I have learned about writing in the years I have been practicing, it is that no writing is worthless. Even if it sucks, the idea be refined, rewritten, and edited until it shines like gold. Even bad writing serves as a lesson of what not to do the next time you sit down with your pen. And so, even though this week’s effort was a loss, I have another idea to add to my edit list, and maybe someday it can be redone into something that I would like to share.

I haven’t started writing this week’s story yet, but I’m hoping that it will be more cooperative. No idea at this time what it will be about. I’ll probably just start writing and see where it takes me. As I have done so many times before.

I hate to say it, but that’s all for today. I just don’t have a lot to say, and my time would be better spent writing. See you next week.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Writing Experience

Leave a Reply

