The End

This week I start the last short story in my Dirty Little Freaks collection. So I suppose it is fitting that I have decided to call it The End. I’m not exactly sure what the story will be, but that is my theme so far.

Last week’s story was about a girl who went home early and found her father draining the blood from one of their neighbors. Apparently she and her whole family are aliens living in disguise on planet Earth and need human DNA in order to fit in. Kind of a weird story, with some creepy psychopathic elements to it, but nobody actually dies. The stolen blood is replaced by something else that takes its place until the donor can make more.

I know that there are going to be a few days left at the end of the year in which I could write another short story, but I don’t think I will. I might take that time to work on the plot for the novel I intend to write next year, or I may just take a break. In either case, there won’t be 53 weeks of short stories, only 52.

Besides, I have already written five extra short stories this year, counting the writing contests for OddCon and WisCon, and the three extra I wrote while I was ahead of schedule in September. So I have done what I set out to do and I have nothing to apologize for if I stop on the 28th instead of the 31st.

That’s about all I have to say this week. I’ll be back next week for another update, and I’ll let you know how the last freak turned out. See you then!

Leave a comment

Filed under The Writing Experience

Leave a Reply

