ROW80 Status – Day 72 (March 15)

Goals:

  1. 500 words of new fiction every day
  2. Finish first draft of Finding Valhalla (DONE!)
  3. Start editing Dragons At Dawn
  4. Post to my blog on Monday and Thursday
  5. Post ROW80 updates on Sunday and Wednesday

Word Counts:

  • 3/13 – 523
  • 3/14 – 504
  • 3/15 – 531

Six Days To Sabbath is at 24,371 words.  Finding Valhalla is finished. Editing progresses slowly on Dragons At Dawn. Blog posts are all on schedule.

After writing Zombie Guinea Pig, I started thinking about writing some more flash fiction, but I don’t really know how. All my work so far has been on novel or novella length stories and I’m not sure how to focus on only one idea for a short story. I have lots of books on writing a novel, but none on writing short fiction.

I need some help! Please leave a comment with any recommendations you have for books on how to write short stories. I really appreciate your help with this.

Good luck on your goals, and see you back here on Sunday!

2 Comments

Filed under Fiction, ROW80, The Writing Experience

2 responses to “ROW80 Status – Day 72 (March 15)

  1. Congrats on moving along with your goals…how many words did your finished draft end up having? I recall you were asking about how long a book “should be,” and wondered what you decided for yours.

    I don’t know any books about writing short stories….good luck!

Leave a comment