I Feel Good!

I did it! I finally managed to write a story that wasn’t dark and disturbing. And the best part is that I have ideas on more of the same.

I actually finished Dirty Little Freaks #11 on Monday. Way ahead of schedule. And I didn’t have to go to the dark side to do it. It’s a little over 1200 words about a boy who goes exploring by himself and finds something wonderful. I used all first person, with no other characters, so there is no dialogue and no need to introduce himself, so I didn’t even have to come up with a name. However, I am planning to write more stories with this character, and I have decided to call him Trevor.

Trevor was out looking for the perfect tree for his tree house, and while he was exploring he became so in tune with the world that when his rope broke and he fell down, it triggered a vision that allowed him to see and manipulate matter at the atomic level. This allowed him to heal his injuries and walk away from his accident with no ill effects. But this is just the beginning. I’ve got four more stories planned that will chronicle how his powers develop over time, and those will be followed up by a novel-length adventure.

I’m calling him the Alchemist, and I am excited about this idea. I already have a rough plot drafted for the next four short stories, as well as the beginning of the novel. So now it looks like I have at least two possible ideas for this year’s NaNoWriMo, and if these short stories continue to inspire me like this I will probably have several more by the time November comes around.

I’m planning on spending the rest of this week continuing to plot out Trevor’s novel, and maybe make some refinements to the idea for his next short story. These ideas are enough to keep me going for the next four weeks, so I won’t need to worry about what to write for a long time. I’m not sure if I will write them all now, or spread them out over time. I guess that will depend on whether or not I get another idea that I can use instead.

Well, that’s all for today. I hope your writing is going well. If not, don’t worry. That’s what edits are for!

See you Sunday!

Leave a comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo, The Writing Experience

Leave a comment