Death in the Family

My guinea pig Charlie died Friday night. He had been sick for about a week, starting with an infection in his eye that apparently spread to his lungs. We tried treating it, but it was too late. By the time we realized how serious it was, he had already stopped eating and wouldn’t take his medicine. There was nothing we could do. My wife and I were heartbroken when we saw him lying so still in his bed. Here’s a picture of him from before he got sick. Sorry it’s so blurry. I wish I could take more pictures of him now, but that will never happen.

2013-07-08 04.20.41

We miss him so much.

I didn’t get any writing done last week. I did manage to read a book, however. The Deaths of Tao, by Wesley Chu. It is the second book in a series, and I highly recommend it. Now I’m reading Midnight Blue-Light Special, by Seanan McGuire. Another good read, and another second book in a series, also highly recommended.

I’m not sure when I’m going to start writing again. For now I think I just need to start reading a little, and see if that inspires me to put some words on the page. I’ll let you know when that happens.

Until next time!

1 Comment

Filed under About Me

One response to “Death in the Family

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. He looks like a sweet little guy. Take the time you need – writing will still be there. Best wishes.

Leave a comment