NaNoWriMo Begins!

I was so busy yesterday that I never got the chance to post as promised. Let’s just say that the last two days were a living hell for both myself and my wife, and leave it at that. The good news is that my apartment has now been fumigated and we have everything back inside. The bad news is that now we are living in a sea of boxes. It’s like we just moved in.

Despite the bone-deep, aching weariness of my body, for some reason I was awake before 3:00 AM this morning. That was after only five hours of restless sleep. I’m probably going to pay for it later, but I decided to get up so I could make this post and start writing.

That’s right, NaNoWriMo starts today. National Novel Writing Month, if you haven’t heard about it before. You can find more information at http://www.nanowrimo.org

This is my third year participating. I “won” both of the last two years, which means I wrote over 50,000 words in the month of November. That’s about 1,667 words per day for anyone too lazy to do the math. I’m going to give it another shot this year, even though I am feeling overwhelmed and haven’t managed to write very much at all in the last year, much less at the rate that is required to finish on time.

So that’s all I’m going to say today. I need to get started if I am going to finish my daily word count in time to help my wife do some more unpacking tonight. And of course I still have my day job. Wish me luck! And if you are participating as well, my best wishes to you, too!

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me, NaNoWriMo

Leave a comment